Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

Singapore 2012 - Starting grid - Two gearbox penalties hit drivers towards the rear of the grid

Published by Christine

Pedro de la Rosa was the first to be hit with a gearbox change, forcing a five place grid penalty on him wherever he qualified. Unfortunately for Pedro, he qualified last so that the penalty made absolutely no difference whatsoever. Bruno Senna had a similar penalty applied to him after the Williams car required a new gearbox, and he drops from 17th to 22nd.

1Lewis HamiltonVodafone McLaren Mercedes1:46.36214
2Pastor MaldonadoWilliams F1 Team1:46.80417
3Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing1:46.90514
4Jenson ButtonVodafone McLaren Mercedes1:46.93915
5Fernando AlonsoScuderia Ferrari1:47.21614
6Paul di RestaSahara Force India F1 Team1:47.24118
7Mark WebberRed Bull Racing1:47.47517
8Romain GrosjeanLotus F1 Team1:47.78816
9Michael SchumacherMercedes AMG Petronas F1 TeamNo time14
10Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas F1 TeamNo time13
11Nico HülkenbergSahara Force India F1 Team1:47.97512
12Kimi RäikkönenLotus F1 Team1:48.26114
13Felipe MassaScuderia Ferrari1:48.34412
14Sergio PérezSauber F1 Team1:48.50514
15Daniel RicciardoScuderia Toro Rosso1:48.77413
16Jean-Éric VergneScuderia Toro Rosso1:48.84914
17Kamui KobayashiSauber F1 Team1:49.9338
18Vitaly PetrovCaterham F1 Team1:50.8466
19Heikki KovalainenCaterham F1 Team1:51.1376
20Timo GlockMarussia F1 Team1:51.3708
21Charles PicMarussia F1 Team1:51.7628
22Bruno SennaWilliams F1 TeamNo time10
23Narain KarthikeyanHRT Formula 1 Team1:52.3727
24Pedro de la RosaHRT Formula 1 Team1:53.3557
  • 5 places. Bruno Senna - The Driver did not use the gearbox for five consecutive Events.
  • 5 places. Pedro de la Rosa - The Driver did not use the gearbox for five consecutive Events.

All content in the series Singapore 2012