Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

Qualifying results - Malaysia 2014 - Hamilton fends off Vettel for pole, as Ericsson crashes out

Published by Christine

Pit board for Ericsson in Malaysia
Credit: Charles Coates/LAT Photographic

A downpour before qualifying began delayed the session by almost an hour, and when it did finally get underway, it was wet tyres all round. Lotus showed some improvement by getting one driver through to Q2, whilst Marcus Ericsson crashed out on track bringing the first session to an early conclusion.

Williams suffered with the conditions and despite having the potential for great pace, saw both drivers drop out in the second sessions. Daniil Kvyat was knocked out of the top ten by his own teammate, who finished up ninth overall.

Jenson Button chose intermediate tyres in the final shootout for pole, at odds with the other nine contenders. Lewis Hamilton set the benchmark and couldn't improve on his own time, only narrowly seeing off the competition from Sebastian Vettel.

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team1:59.43122
2Sebastian VettelInfiniti Red Bull Racing1:59.48620
3Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team2:00.05023
4Fernando AlonsoScuderia Ferrari2:00.17522
5Daniel RicciardoInfiniti Red Bull Racing2:00.54120
6Kimi RäikkönenScuderia Ferrari2:01.21821
7Nico HülkenbergSahara Force India F1 Team2:01.71223
8Kevin MagnussenMcLaren Mercedes2:02.21320
9Jean-Éric VergneScuderia Toro Rosso2:03.07823
10Jenson ButtonMcLaren Mercedes2:04.05322
11Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso2:02.35116
12Esteban GutiérrezSauber F1 Team2:02.36916
13Felipe MassaWilliams Martini Racing2:02.46016
14Sergio PérezSahara Force India F1 Team2:02.51115
15Valtteri BottasWilliams Martini Racing2:02.75617
16Romain GrosjeanLotus F1 Team2:02.88517
17Pastor MaldonadoLotus F1 Team2:02.0748
18Adrian SutilSauber F1 Team2:02.1317
19Jules BianchiMarussia F1 Team2:02.7028
20Kamui KobayashiCaterham F1 Team2:03.5958
21Max ChiltonMarussia F1 Team2:04.3888
22Marcus EricssonCaterham F1 Team2:04.4077

All content in the series Malaysia 2014