Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

Malaysia 2012 - Race results - Fernando Alonso takes victory in rain-hit Malaysian GP

Published by Christine

The Malaysian GP was halted just eight laps in after the expected rain finally came down. Several strategy calls came into play, including those who had opted for full wet tyres straight away, and those who changed to intermediates after the restart. The big question came when to change back to the dry tyres. With Fernando Alonso in the lead, and a surprising Sergio Pérez hunting him down, the final laps were something to behold.

BestKimi RäikkönenLotus F1 Team1:40.722Lap 53
1Fernando AlonsoScuderia Ferrari2:44:51.8123
2Sergio PérezSauber F1 Team+2.23
3Lewis HamiltonVodafone McLaren Mercedes+14.53
4Mark WebberRed Bull Racing+17.63
5Kimi RäikkönenLotus F1 Team+29.43
6Bruno SennaWilliams F1 Team+37.64
7Paul di RestaSahara Force India F1 Team+44.43
8Jean-Éric VergneScuderia Toro Rosso+46.92
9Nico HülkenbergSahara Force India F1 Team+47.83
10Michael SchumacherMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team+49.93
11Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing+75.54
12Daniel RicciardoScuderia Toro Rosso+76.84
13Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team+78.54
14Jenson ButtonVodafone McLaren Mercedes+79.55
15Felipe MassaScuderia Ferrari+79.74
16Vitaly PetrovCaterham F1 Team+97.33
17Timo GlockMarussia F1 Team+1 lap3
18Heikki KovalainenCaterham F1 Team+1 lap4
19Pastor MaldonadoWilliams F1 Team+1 lap5
20Charles PicMarussia F1 Team+2 laps3
21Pedro de la RosaHRT Formula 1 Team+2 laps3
22Narain KarthikeyanHRT Formula 1 Team+2 laps2
DNFKamui KobayashiSauber F1 TeamLap 494
DNFRomain GrosjeanLotus F1 TeamLap 40
  • 1 places. Narain Karthikeyan - 20 seconds added to race time - causing an avoidable collision with Sebastian Vettel.

All content in the series Malaysia 2012