Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

Malaysia 2009 - Race results - A red flagged Grand Prix sees half points awarded to winner Button

Published by Christine

The race started well, but after just 33 laps, the heavy rain began to fall. After much waiting around, it was declared over, and Jenson Button won his second GP in less than perfect circumstances. Robert Kubica's BMW caught fire at the very start of the race, whilst Ferrari struggled with tyre strategy and lost out when the red flag dropped.

1Jenson Button1hr 10:59.092
2Nick Heidfeld+22.722
3Timo Glock+23.513
4Jarno Trulli+46.173
5Rubens Barrichello+47.360
6Mark Webber+52.333
7Lewis Hamilton+60.733
8Nico Rosberg+71.576
9Felipe Massa+76.932
10Sébastien Bourdais+102.164
11Fernando Alonso+1 lap
12Kazuki Nakajima+1 lap
13Nelson Piquet+1 lap
14Kimi Räikkönen+1 lap
15Sebastian Vettel+1 lap
16Sébastien Buemi+1 lap
17Adrian Sutil+1 lap
18Giancarlo Fisichella+ 2 laps
RetRobert KubicaLap 1
RetHeikki KovalainenLap 0