Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

Bountiful F1 calendar strives for 21 events - Second attempt to squeeze in twenty-plus races

Published by Christine

2016 season F1 calendar

The FIA's World Motor Sport Council recently confirmed the latest version of the calendar for next season, and it wasn't really a surprise to see a bumper 21 events listed. F1 has been trying to stretch the calendar to 21 races for several years now, and this is yet another attempt to get maximum races into twelve short months.

This time, we've got the new Azerbaijan race to look forward to, taking place in the middle of June. The Russian Grand Prix has moved to an earlier point in the season, hosting the fourth round between China and Spain. Malaysia has switched to the latter half of the schedule, sitting now between Singapore and Japan.

Meanwhile, the US race remains subject to confirmation after it was revealed funding for the event has been reduced. Hopefully they can sort something out, having until the 23rd October to do so. As has become traditional, Australia kicks off the racing year towards the end of March, whilst Abu Dhabi holds firm as the season finale on the 27th November.

Formula 1 Calendar 2016
20 MarchAustraliaMelbourne
3 AprilBahrainSakhir
17 AprilChinaShanghai
1 MayRussiaSochi
15 MaySpainBarcelona
29 MayMonacoMonte Carlo
12 JuneCanadaMontréal
19 JuneAzerbaijanBaku
3 JulyAustriaSpielberg
10 JulyGreat BritainSilverstone
24 JulyHungaryBudapest
31 JulyGermanyHockenheim
28 AugustBelgiumSpa-Francorchamps
4 SeptemberItalyMonza
18 SeptemberSingaporeSingapore
2 OctoberMalaysiaKuala Lumpur
9 OctoberJapanSuzuka
23 OctoberUSAAustin*
30 OctoberMexicoMexico City
13 NovemberBrazilSão Paulo
27 NovemberAbu DhabiYas Marina

*Subject to agreement with the promoter