Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

FIA announce official 2010 entry list - Team name changes, and new entrants for the new F1 season

Published by Mr. C

The FIA released the official 2010 Formula One World Championship entry list this evening. Predictably there are still plenty of drivers to be confirmed, but the release has cleared up a number of question marks regarding next season.

Blick Magazine pointed out yesterday that this was expected, although they managed to cause mass confusion during the weekend by claiming that Peter Sauber's team would be assigned the final slot. Neither the man nor the ex-BMW team are mentioned in the list.

Toyota are also notable by their absence, and the FIA reiterates that the manufacturer remains bound by the Concorde Agreement to put forward a team for participation.

Interestingly the Manor GP team are formally listed as Virgin Racing, with the constructor being named Virgin Cosworth. Although the renaming was expected, there has yet to be an official announcement from either party confirming such.

The Brawn GP name remains for the moment, but a change request is noted. Oddly the full company name of Mercedes-Benz is used in the constructors column, whereas Force India and McLaren only mention Mercedes.

The 2010 entry list in full:

1Jenson ButtonVodafone McLaren MercedesMcLaren Mercedes
2Lewis HamiltonVodafone McLlaren MercedesMcLaren Mercedes
3Nico RosbergBrawn Gp Formula One Team*Brawn Mercedes-Benz
4TBABrawn Gp Formula One Team*Brawn Mercedes-Benz
5Sebastian VettelRed Bull RacingRed Bull Racing Renault
6Mark WebberRed Bull RacingRed Bull Racing Renault
7Felipe MassaScuderia Ferrari MarlboroFerrari
8Fernando AlonsoScuderia Ferrari MarlboroFerrari
9Rubens BarrichelloAT&T WilliamsWilliams Cosworth
10Nico HülkenbergAT&T WilliamsWilliams Cosworth
11Robert KubicaRenault F1 TeamRenault
12TBARenault F1 TeamRenault
14Adrian SutilForce India F1 TeamForce India Mercedes
15Vitantonio LiuzziForce India F1 TeamForce India Mercedes
16Sébastien BuemiScuderia Toro RossoSTR Ferrari
17TBAScuderia Toro RossoSTR Ferrari
18TBALotus F1 RacingLotus Cosworth
19TBALotus F1 RacingLotus Cosworth
20TBACampos META 1Campos Dallara
21Bruno SennaCampos META 1Campos Dallara
22TBAUS F1 TeamUS F1 Cosworth
23TBAUS F1 TeamUS F1 Cosworth
24Timo GlockVirgin RacingVirgin Cosworth
25TBAVirgin RacingVirgin Cosworth

* This team has indicated its intention to change its team name to Mercedes Grand Prix prior to the start of the 2010 season.

- Toyota Motorsport GmbH remains formally bound by the Concorde Agreement to put forward a team for participation, though it has indicated that it will not be in a position to do so. An announcement will be made regarding this entry in due course.

Updated: As noted in the comments below, Massa and Alonso appear to be numbered incorrectly. A similar situation occurred last year in the official entry list, where Kimi was erroneously mentioned ahead of Felipe. This was corrected before the first race of the season.

The document also confirms Red Bull will be running Renault engines again next season. Another given, that was waiting to be officially confirmed.