Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

Ferrari confirm Alonso in, Räikkönen out - The Scuderia announce their driver line-up for 2010

Published by Mr. C

Ferrari have finally announced what we've been expecting for the best part of 18 months. Fernando Alonso will join the team from 2010. Additionally current driver Kimi Räikkönen will exit the team at the end of the year.

From the official press release:

Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro announces that it has reached an agreement with the driver Fernando Alonso. The agreement covers three racing seasons, starting in 2010.

The Scuderia’s driver line-up next season will therefore be made up of Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso, with Giancarlo Fisichella in the role of reserve driver.

Kimi Räikkönen will leave the team at the end of this current season, after what has been a rewarding and fruitful partnership, which saw him win the Drivers’ title in 2007. He also played a key role in Ferrari’s taking of the Constructor’s title that same year and in 2008.

Team boss Stefano Domenicali said of the worst kept secret in Formula One:

We are very proud to welcome to our team another winning driver, who has demonstrated his amazing talent by winning two World Championships in his career to date, of course, we wish to thank Kimi for everything he has done during his time with Ferrari: in his first year with us, he managed to win the Drivers' title, thus making his contribution to Ferrari's history and he played a vital role in our taking of the Constructors' title in 2007 and 2008. Even during a difficult season like this one, he has demonstrated his great talent, with several good results, including a great win in Spa and we are sure that we can share more good times together in the final three races of this season.

We now wait for confirmation of Kimi's future plans.