Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

F1 driver numbers made official - Number 13 returns to the grid this year

Published by Christine

Grosjean retains his #8 from 2013
Credit: Dunbar/Lotus F1 Team

The FIA have revealed the list of brand new permanent driver numbers, with nineteen names selecting their favourite digits that will stick with them for the rest of their Formula 1 career. Several drivers had already revealed their top three nominations, and most landed at least one of their choices.

Priority was given to those who finished higher up in the championship last season, which left poor Jules Bianchi to have to select an additional number beyond his preferred selection.

As of today, every driver with a confirmed seat for next season has a number and they make for a pretty interesting line-up.

3Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing
4Max ChiltonMarussia F1 Team
5Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing
6Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team
7Kimi RäikkönenScuderia Ferrari
8Romain GrosjeanLotus F1 Team
9Marcus EricssonCaterham F1
10Kamui KobayashiCaterham F1
11Sergio PérezSahara Force India F1 Team
13Pastor MaldonadoLotus F1 Team
14Fernando AlonsoScuderia Ferrari
17Jules BianchiMarussia F1 Team
19Felipe MassaWilliams F1 Team
20Kevin MagnussenMcLaren Mercedes
21Esteban GutiérrezSauber F1 Team
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren Mercedes
25Jean-Éric VergneScuderia Toro Rosso
26Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso
27Nico HülkenbergSahara Force India F1 Team
44Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team
77Valtteri BottasWilliams F1 Team
99Adrian SutilSauber F1 Team

Sebastian Vettel's number choice for his career is five, but of course, he can use the number one for the duration of his champion status - which seems likely to last forever. Three drivers have yet to be confirmed for next year, with Marussia and Caterham both missing at least one driver from their line-ups.

Valtteri Bottas is my particular favourite, as we know he's going to use his number to promote the #Val77eriBO77AS brand. Pastor Maldonado has garnered a lot of respect today as well, selecting the number 13 - long avoided in F1 circles due to misguided superstition. Both Kimi Räikkönen and Romain Grosjean coincidentally retain their numbers from last season.

Now it is all down to the individual to make the most of the new branding and marketing opportunities presented with this change. Look out for all new helmet designs coming to a race driver near you.