Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

Sky Sports and BBC name their 2014 Formula 1 schedules - F1 season closer remains free to air

Published by Christine

Rosberg in Abu Dhabi
Credit: Mercedes

The races that will be free to air in the UK next year have been confirmed, with nine events available live on the BBC and highlights for the remaining ten. Subscription service Sky Sports will air the prestigious Monaco and Singapore races exclusively, as well as the return of racing in Austria.

The brand new Grand Prix in Russia will be available on both platforms, as will the season-ending double-points spectacular in Abu Dhabi. Compared to last year, the BBC have picked up Malaysia but lost China, and they are still one race down due to the uneven number on the calendar.

Those races the BBC do not have full rights to will be available with extended highlights.

UK television schedule

DateRaceUK Broadcaster
16 MarchAustraliaSky Sports
30 MarchMalaysiaSky Sports & BBC
6 AprilBahrainSky Sports
20 AprilChinaSky Sports
11 MaySpainSky Sports & BBC
25 MayMonacoSky Sports
8 JuneCanadaSky Sports & BBC
22 JuneAustriaSky Sports
6 JulyGreat BritainSky Sports & BBC
20 JulyGermanySky Sports
27 JulyHungarySky Sports
24 AugustBelgiumSky Sports & BBC
7 SeptemberItalySky Sports & BBC
21 SeptemberSingaporeSky Sports
5 OctoberJapanSky Sports & BBC
12 OctoberRussiaSky Sports & BBC
2 NovemberUSASky Sports
9 NovemberBrazilSky Sports
23 NovemberAbu DhabiSky Sports & BBC

Sky have made efforts to make their sports channels available via more avenues over the past twelve months, making the paid-for races slightly more accessible than they have been previously. The split deal is still adding a layer of confusion for viewers, unfortunately, but there's some consistency as both broadcasters plan to retain their presentation teams for the coming season.