Sidepodcast // All for F1 and F1 for all

Australia 2009 - Qualifying results // Brawn GP lock out the front row in Melbourne

Published by Christine

The first qualifying session of the year saw Nico Rosberg fail to capitalise on his practice pace, with Brawn GP stepping up. Jenson Button snatched the first pole of the year, with teammate Rubens Barrichello close behind. A mechanical issue halted Lewis Hamilton's running in the second session, whilst Heikki Kovalainen also failed to crack the top ten.

1Jenson Button1:26.20219
2Rubens Barrichello1:26.50521
3Sebastian Vettel1:26.83021
4Robert Kubica1:26.91419
5Nico Rosberg1:26.97321
6Felipe Massa1:27.03321
7Kimi Räikkönen1:27.16321
8Mark Webber1:27.24620
9Nick Heidfeld1:25.50414
10Fernando Alonso1:25.60512
11Kazuki Nakajima1:25.60716
12Heikki Kovalainen1:25.72615
13Sébastien Buemi1:26.50310
14Nelson Piquet1:26.59812
15Giancarlo Fisichella1:26.67710
16Adrian Sutil1:26.7429
17Sébastien Bourdais1:26.96410
18Lewis HamiltonNo Time5
19Jarno Trulli1:27.12720
20Timo Glock1:26.97519

Note: Lewis Hamilton takes a 5-place grid penalty for changing his gear box.

Note: Both Toyota drivers were stripped of their grid positions due to a flexible wing infringement.

Australia qualifying weights