Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

Australia 2009 - Race results - Jenson Button wins the first race of the year with Brawn GP

Published by Christine

Brawn GP have certainly made their mark on the start of the season. From a future that looked uncertain, they dominated the field today and took their first win at their first race. Lewis Hamilton recovered from a difficult qualifying to score a podium finish. Meanwhile, both the Ferrari drivers retired towards the end of the race, with Felipe Massa pulling off track and Kimi Räikkönen crashing into the wall.

1Jenson Button1hr 34:15.784
2Rubens Barrichello+0.807
3Lewis Hamilton+2.914
4Timo Glock+4.435
5Fernando Alonso+4.879
6Nico Rosberg+5.722
7Sébastien Buemi+6.004
8Sébastien Bourdais+6.298
9Adrian Sutil+6.335
10Nick Heidfeld+7.085
11Giancarlo Fisichella+7.374
12Jarno Trulli+26.6
13Mark Webber+1 lap
14Sebastian Vettel+2 laps
15Robert Kubica+3 laps
16Kimi Räikkönen+3 laps
RetFelipe MassaLap 46
RetNelson PiquetLap 25
RetKazuki NakajimaLap 18
RetHeikki KovalainenLap 1

Note: Jarno Trulli originally finished 3rd but was handed 25s penalty post-race for overtaking under the safety car.