Sidepodcast // All for F1 and F1 for all

Next race: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Yas Island

19 race calendar confirmed for 2014 Formula One season // The FIA unveil the finalised list that sees New Jersey, Mexico and Korea dropped

Published by Christine Blachford

The World Motor Sport Council met today in France to ratify calendars for almost all the series' that they govern. Naturally, our focus is on how the Formula One season will shape up next year, and it is back to a 19-race calendar for 2014. New events in Mexico and New Jersey have been dropped from the list, whilst the Korean Grand Prix is also missing. With India off the calendar anyway, that's two of the least interesting races gone for next year.

The event organisation seems to be a little better this time, with only four back to back weekends, rather than the five we saw this year, and fewer of the lengthy and confusing gaps early on in the season. The finale has switched from Brazil to Abu Dhabi, with the season drawing to a conclusion on November 23.

Formula 1 Calendar 2014
16 MarchAustraliaMelbourne
30 MarchMalaysiaKuala Lumpur
6 AprilBahrainSakhir
20 AprilChinaShanghai
11 MaySpainCatalunya
25 MayMonacoMonte Carlo
8 JuneCanadaMontréal
22 JuneAustriaSpielberg
6 JulyGreat BritainSilverstone
20 JulyGermanyHockenheim
27 JulyHungaryBudapest
24 AugustBelgiumSpa-Francorchamps
7 SeptemberItalyMonza
21 SeptemberSingaporeSingapore
5 OctoberJapanSuzuka
12 OctoberRussiaSochi
2 NovemberUSAAustin
9 NovemberBrazilSão Paulo
23 NovemberAbu DhabiYas Marina

The WMSC also confirmed, amongst others, the calendars for the World Endurance championship, World Touring Car championship, Rallycross championship and the inaugural Formula E championship crossing the end of 2014 and start of 2015. Formula One remains the longest season, though!

Buy from Amazon - Pocket F1 Handbook: Guide to the 2015 Grand Prix Season

365 F1 stories

Which driver, retired for one year from F1, won Felipe Massa's charity kart race on this day in 2007?

F1 team launches
McLaren HondaOnline29 Jan
Sauber F1 TeamOnline30 Jan
Scuderia FerrariOnline30 Jan
Scuderia Toro RossoJerez, Spain31 Jan
Infiniti Red Bull RacingJerez, Spain1 Feb
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 TeamJerez, Spain1 Feb
Williams Martini RacingJerez, Spain1 Feb
Lotus F1 TeamJerez, Spain2 Feb
Sahara Force India F1 TeamOnline25 Feb
F1 test schedule
Circuito de JerezSpain1 Feb
Circuito de JerezSpain2 Feb
Circuito de JerezSpain3 Feb
Circuito de JerezSpain4 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain19 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain20 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain21 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain22 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain26 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain27 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain28 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain1 Mar

On this day in F1 history