Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

F1Minute - Bitesize Formula One news

Sebastian Vettel wins the 2011 Belgian Grand Prix - Vettel, Webber and Button take to the podium after a hectic race at Spa

Published by Christine

Sebastian Vettel wins the 2011 Belgian Grand Prix
Credit: Lars Baron / Getty Images
Sebastian Vettel wins the 2011 Belgian Grand Prix audio waveform

This is F1Minute - Sebastian Vettel wins the Belgian Grand Prix.

Sebastian Vettel took his seventh win of the year, but the familiar result belies a chaotic race. It remained dry throughout, itself an unusual occurrence at Spa. On the first corner, Bruno Senna missed his braking point and smashed straight into Jaime Alguersuari, knocking out the Toro Rosso and ruining his own race.

Nico Rosberg got ahead of Vettel for the lead, whilst further clashes were happening behind them. Crucially, Michael Schumacher had moved from last on the grid up to 14th on the first lap.

On Lap 13, there was a big crash between Lewis Hamilton and Kamui Kobayashi. Hamilton was out of the race and the Safety Car came out. Through further pit stops, Vettel regained his position at the front of the pack, whilst Jenson Button began passing cars left, right and centre, on a different tyre strategy to those he was hunting down.

Vettel took the win, with Webber and Button joining him on the podium. Pastor Maldonado picked up his first championship point, whilst Schumacher got past Rosberg right at the end to finish fifth.