Sidepodcast // All for F1 and F1 for all

Next race: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Yas Island
F1Minute // Bitesize Formula One news

Bruno Senna awarded the 2012 Lorenzo Bandini trophy // The Williams driver is honoured as a rising star of motorsport

Published by Christine Blachford

Bruno Senna awarded the 2012 Lorenzo Bandini trophy
Credit: Glenn Dunbar / LAT
Bruno Senna awarded the 2012 Lorenzo Bandini trophy audio waveform

This is F1Minute - Bruno Senna awarded the 2012 Lorenzo Bandini trophy.

The Lorenzo Bandini trophy is awarded annually to a rising star in motorsport, in memory of the driver of the same name who died in 1967, by his hometown of Brisighella. For this year, Bruno Senna has been named recipient of the award, given to drivers who are making a promising start to their motorsport careers.

Last year’s winner was Nico Rosberg, whilst previous recipients include Sebastian Vettel, Robert Kubica, Lewis Hamilton, Fernando Alonso and Kimi Räikkönen. In fact, all the champions since 2000 have been given the award at one time or another.

Bruno Senna is proud of the achievement, saying: “It’s a great honour to receive the Lorenzo Bandini Trophy, particularly when you consider the excellent racing drivers that have been awarded it in the past. I would like to thank the people of Brisighella for their kind support and generosity as well as all of those who have helped me in my career so far. I’m very much looking forward to the ceremony next month.”

Traditionally, the winner drives through the public streets to Brisighella to pick up the trophy, some have even done so in their F1 cars.

Buy from Amazon - Pocket F1 Handbook: Guide to the 2015 Grand Prix Season

365 F1 stories

Which popular North American circuit was confirmed to be back on the calendar on this day in 2009?

F1 team launches
McLaren HondaOnline29 Jan
Sauber F1 TeamOnline30 Jan
Scuderia FerrariOnline30 Jan
Scuderia Toro RossoJerez, Spain31 Jan
Infiniti Red Bull RacingJerez, Spain1 Feb
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 TeamJerez, Spain1 Feb
Williams Martini RacingJerez, Spain1 Feb
Lotus F1 TeamJerez, Spain2 Feb
Sahara Force India F1 TeamOnline25 Feb
F1 test schedule
Circuito de JerezSpain1 Feb
Circuito de JerezSpain2 Feb
Circuito de JerezSpain3 Feb
Circuito de JerezSpain4 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain19 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain20 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain21 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain22 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain26 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain27 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain28 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain1 Mar

On this day in F1 history