Sidepodcast // All for F1 and F1 for all

Next race: Australian Grand Prix, Melbourne
F1Minute // Bitesize Formula One news

Räikkönen takes first 2008 win in Malaysia // Kimi wins as Massa retires for the second time this season

Published by Christine Blachford

Räikkönen takes first 2008 win in Malaysia
Räikkönen takes first 2008 win in Malaysia audio waveform

Today is the 23rd March, I’m Christine and this is F1Minute.

Ferrari dominated proceedings in Malaysia, despite Massa retiring halfway through the race. Early on, Räikkönen and Massa were trading fastest laps, Räikkönen managed to jump his team mate during the first round of pit stops and held the lead until the end. Massa was close in second until he spun off and got stuck in the gravel.

Robert Kubica continued to show the strong form of BMW by taking second place on the podium, and Kovalainen made the best of a bad weekend for McLaren in third. Notably, Trulli took fourth place, in a much improved Toyota performance.

Retirees included Bourdais, Glock, Sutil and Vettel – who’s Ferrari engine blew up after about 40 laps.

In other news, speculation is mounting that Jean Todt might be lining up to take Max Mosley’s place as President of the FIA. The former Ferrari CEO said he was “open” to other roles within motorsport and didn’t deny the possibility of running for the Presidency.

That’s all for today, I’ll be back tomorrow with another F1Minute.

Buy from Amazon - Pocket F1 Handbook: Guide to the 2015 Grand Prix Season

365 F1 stories

Which Red Bull driver was the first to try out the RB6, launched on this day in 2010 at Jerez?

F1 team launches
Haas F1 TeamBarcelona, Spain21 Feb
McLaren HondaBarcelona, Spain21 Feb
Williams Martini RacingBarcelona, Spain22 Feb
F1 test schedule
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain22 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain23 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain24 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain25 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain1 Mar
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain2 Mar
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain3 Mar
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain4 Mar

On this day in F1 history