Sidepodcast // All for F1 and F1 for all

Next race: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Yas Island
F1 encyclopedia

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team

Formula 1 team

Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team
Credit: Mercedes
Team information
F1 debutBahrain Grand Prix, 2010
Season line-up
Race driverLewis Hamilton
Race driverNico Rosberg
Key members of staff
Head of motorsportToto Wolff
Executive director (technical)Paddy Lowe
Sporting directorRon Meadows

Mercedes made a brief foray into F1 racing in the 1950s, but withdrew in 1955 and didn’t return as a works team until 2010. They gradually improved with pole positions and podiums, followed by race wins and in 2014, a championship victory. They were the dominant team during the season, winning all but three of the races, and dealing with their difficult driver disputes along the way.

F1 history

Mercedes have long been associated with motorsport, the fabled Silver Arrows making appearances in pre-F1 racing. The team entered Formula One in its first decade, with Juan Manuel Fangio driving for them in 1954 and beyond. Unfortunately, the 1955 season was marred by the Le Mans disaster in which one crash killed the driver and more than 80 of the crowd. At the end of the year, Mercedes withdrew from having a team in motorsport.

However, they continued to supply engines across the years and were still heavily involved in Formula One, particularly partnered with McLaren. Ahead of the 2010 season, Mercedes bought the Brawn GP team and rebranded them as a works outfit. With Nico Rosberg and returning champion Michael Schumacher on board, they were a fully German team despite still being based at Brackley. Rosberg took the team’s first podium during that 2010 season, but it would take until 2012 before they would get their first win.

Nico Rosberg took victory in China that year, whilst Schumacher was unable to do the same. The German racer retired at the end of the year and was replaced by Lewis Hamilton. Mercedes’s results continued to improve, they won three times in 2013 and finished second in the championship as best of the rest behind the super-dominant Red Bull.

For 2014, the Mercedes team were tipped to be the favourites, with the strongest of the new breed of engines, and they delivered. Winning all but three of the races during the season, the title fight was only ever going to be between Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg. They had to navigate some tricky waters, including team order decisions, plus teammate unrest and relationship squabbles, but ultimately managed to hold things together to take victory. The team remain unchanged for 2015, hoping to repeat their success a second time.

Learn more about Mercedes with the Pocket F1 Handbook.

Buy from Amazon - Pocket F1 Handbook: Guide to the 2015 Grand Prix Season

365 F1 stories

Which driver, retired for one year from F1, won Felipe Massa's charity kart race on this day in 2007?

F1 team launches
McLaren HondaOnline29 Jan
Sauber F1 TeamOnline30 Jan
Scuderia FerrariOnline30 Jan
Scuderia Toro RossoJerez, Spain31 Jan
Infiniti Red Bull RacingJerez, Spain1 Feb
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 TeamJerez, Spain1 Feb
Williams Martini RacingJerez, Spain1 Feb
Lotus F1 TeamJerez, Spain2 Feb
Sahara Force India F1 TeamOnline25 Feb
F1 test schedule
Circuito de JerezSpain1 Feb
Circuito de JerezSpain2 Feb
Circuito de JerezSpain3 Feb
Circuito de JerezSpain4 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain19 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain20 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain21 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain22 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain26 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain27 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain28 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain1 Mar

An Aside with Joe