Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

F1 encyclopedia

Driver standings - Italian Grand Prix 2017 - Hamilton snatches title lead from Vettel in Italy

Hamilton snatches title lead from Vettel in Italy
Credit: Mercedes-Benz Grand Prix

For the first time in the 2017 season, Lewis Hamilton has managed to get ahead of Sebastian Vettel in the fight for the driver's title. With just three points in it, the difference was clear between Hamilton's comfortable race victory in Monza, and Vettel clinging on to third place. It's still a hugely close battle between them, but the momentum is all with Mercedes at the moment. Bottas remains in third, whilst the battle between Daniel Ricciardo and Kimi Räikkönen for fourth continues to go the Red Bull driver's way at the moment.

The only other change of positions was for Lance Stroll at Williams, who leapfrogged Romain Grosjean to move into 12th place. They have the same number of points, though, so it all could change again next time out.

11Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport238
2-1Sebastian VettelScuderia Ferrari235
30Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport197
40Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing144
50Kimi RäikkönenScuderia Ferrari138
60Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing68
70Sergio PérezSahara Force India F1 Team58
80Esteban OconSahara Force India F1 Team55
90Carlos Sainz JrScuderia Toro Rosso36
100Nico HülkenbergRenault Sport F1 Team34
110Felipe MassaWilliams Martini Racing31
121Lance StrollWilliams Martini Racing24
13-1Romain GrosjeanHaas F1 Team24
140Kevin MagnussenHaas F1 Team11
150Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda10
160Pascal WehrleinSauber F1 Team5
170Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso4
180Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1
190Jolyon PalmerRenault Sport F1 Team0
200Marcus EricssonSauber F1 Team0
210Antonio GiovinazziHaas F1 Team0
220Paul di RestaWilliams Martini Racing0
230Jenson ButtonMcLaren Honda0
F1 driver championship2380AUSCHNBHRRUSESPMONCANAZEAUTGBRHUNBELITALewis HamiltonSebastian VettelValtteri BottasDaniel RicciardoKimi RäikkönenMax VerstappenSergio PérezEsteban OconCarlos Sainz JrNico HülkenbergFelipe MassaLance StrollRomain GrosjeanKevin MagnussenFernando AlonsoPascal WehrleinDaniil KvyatStoffel VandoorneSelect name to toggle individual visibility or toggle all