Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

F1 encyclopedia

Driver standings - Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2017 - Räikkönen and Hülkenberg make final jumps up the leaderboard

Räikkönen and Hülkenberg make final jumps up the leaderboard
Credit: Williams F1

On the face of it, the Abu Dhabi race wasn't a spectacular event but it turns out there was a lot riding on the results. With Toro Rosso and Renault battling for position in the team standings, it was down to the drivers to do their best. Carlos Sainz retired, due to a misplaced wheel nut, leaving it all in Hülkenberg's hands. The German delivered, picking up points, and propelling himself above both Williams drivers in the process.

Further up the table, Kimi Räikkönen also scored a good result and managing to pip Daniel Ricciardo to fourth place at the final round. He must be disappointed to be a full 100 points of Bottas, though, and Valtteri in turn should be slightly worried that he had the best car on the grid and still finished third.

10Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport363
20Sebastian VettelScuderia Ferrari317
30Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport305
41Kimi RäikkönenScuderia Ferrari205
5-1Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing200
60Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing168
70Sergio PérezSahara Force India F1 Team100
80Esteban OconSahara Force India F1 Team87
90Carlos Sainz JrRenault Sport F1 Team54
102Nico HülkenbergRenault Sport F1 Team43
11-1Felipe MassaWilliams Martini Racing43
12-1Lance StrollWilliams Martini Racing40
130Romain GrosjeanHaas F1 Team28
140Kevin MagnussenHaas F1 Team19
150Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda17
160Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda13
170Jolyon PalmerRenault Sport F1 Team8
180Pascal WehrleinSauber F1 Team5
190Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso5
200Marcus EricssonSauber F1 Team0
210Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso0
220Antonio GiovinazziHaas F1 Team0
230Brendon HartleyScuderia Toro Rosso0
240Paul di RestaWilliams Martini Racing0
250Jenson ButtonMcLaren Honda0
F1 driver championship3630AUSCHNBHRRUSESPMONCANAZEAUTGBRHUNBELITASINMALJPNUSAMEXBRAABULewis HamiltonSebastian VettelValtteri BottasKimi RäikkönenDaniel RicciardoMax VerstappenSergio PérezEsteban OconCarlos Sainz JrNico HülkenbergFelipe MassaLance StrollRomain GrosjeanKevin MagnussenFernando AlonsoStoffel VandoorneJolyon PalmerPascal WehrleinDaniil KvyatSelect name to toggle individual visibility or toggle all