Sidepodcast // All for F1 and F1 for all

Next race: Austrian Grand Prix, Spielberg
F1 encyclopedia

Formula 1 season 2017

Formula 1 season guide

Formula 1 season 2017
Points allocation

The 2017 season aims to shake up the established order of things with some new aerodynamic-focused regulation changes. Wider cars and fatter Pirelli tyres aim to create more downforce and thus faster cars, and teams will be looking to capitalise on the changes to try and close the gap to Mercedes. 2016 World Champion Nico Rosberg exited the sport immediately after his win, which means his title is up for grabs for anyone to take this coming year.

Season overview

Mercedes have dominated Formula One for several years now, and the FIA have taken steps to try and close the field by making regulation changes that will affect the look and feel of the cars. Although the engines remain the same and Mercedes will still have an advantage on that front, other teams will be working hard to close the aerodynamic gap with longer noses, wider cars and fatter tyres that aim to make the lap times drop and the number of overtakes rise.

The calendar is back to twenty races after the German Grand Prix dropped out due to funding concerns and contract negotiations. The season begins in Australia and winds around the globe to end up in Abu Dhabi, twenty races later. There are no new races this year, with Azerbaijan returning for its second year and Mexico playing host to the popular event for the third time.

Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton fought a bitter battle for the world championship in 2016, but Nico’s withdrawal from the sport leaves Mercedes with a new dynamic for the coming season. We waved goodbye to some familiar and friendly faces last season but 2017 sees a fresh new batch of drivers stepping up to the plate. They include Stoffel Vandoorne at McLaren and Lance Stroll at Williams, whilst Nico Hülkenberg has switched to the factory team of Renault and Kevin Magnussen has moved to the US team of Haas. There’s a lot of changes heading into the 2017 season, and hopefully they will result in a season full of unexpected surprises and fascinating drama.

Season calendar

Australian Grand PrixAustralia26 Mar
Chinese Grand PrixChina09 Apr
Bahrain Grand PrixBahrain16 Apr
Russian Grand PrixRussia30 Apr
Spanish Grand PrixSpain14 May
Monaco Grand PrixMonaco28 May
Canadian Grand PrixCanada11 Jun
Azerbaijan Grand PrixAzerbaijan25 Jun
Austrian Grand PrixAustria09 Jul
British Grand PrixUnited Kingdom16 Jul
Hungarian Grand PrixHungary30 Jul
Belgian Grand PrixBelgium27 Aug
Italian Grand PrixItaly03 Sep
Singapore Grand PrixSingapore17 Sep
Malaysian Grand PrixMalaysia01 Oct
Japanese Grand PrixJapan08 Oct
United States Grand PrixUnited States22 Oct
Mexican Grand PrixMexico29 Oct
Brazilian Grand PrixBrazil12 Nov
Abu Dhabi Grand PrixAbu Dhabi26 Nov

Driver standings

10Sebastian VettelScuderia Ferrari153
20Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport139
30Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport111
41Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing92
5-1Kimi RäikkönenScuderia Ferrari73
60Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing45
70Sergio PérezSahara Force India F1 Team44
80Esteban OconSahara Force India F1 Team35
90Carlos Sainz JrScuderia Toro Rosso29
100Felipe MassaWilliams Martini Racing20
110Nico HülkenbergRenault Sport F1 Team18
124Lance StrollWilliams Martini Racing17
130Kevin MagnussenHaas F1 Team11
14-2Romain GrosjeanHaas F1 Team10
15-1Pascal WehrleinSauber F1 Team5
16-1Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso4
172Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda2
18-1Jolyon PalmerRenault Sport F1 Team0
19-1Marcus EricssonSauber F1 Team0
201Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda0
21-1Antonio GiovinazziSauber F1 Team0
220Jenson ButtonMcLaren Honda0
F1 driver championship1530AUSCHNBHRRUSESPMONCANAZESebastian VettelLewis HamiltonValtteri BottasDaniel RicciardoKimi RäikkönenMax VerstappenSergio PérezEsteban OconCarlos Sainz JrFelipe MassaNico HülkenbergLance StrollKevin MagnussenRomain GrosjeanPascal WehrleinDaniil KvyatFernando AlonsoSelect name to toggle individual visibility or toggle all

Constructor standings

10Mercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport250
20Scuderia Ferrari226
30Red Bull Racing137
40Sahara Force India F1 Team79
51Williams Martini Racing37
6-1Scuderia Toro Rosso33
71Haas F1 Team21
8-1Renault Sport F1 Team18
90Sauber F1 Team5
100McLaren Honda2
F1 constructor championship2500AUSCHNBHRRUSESPMONCANAZEMercedes AMG Petro …Scuderia FerrariRed Bull RacingSahara Force India …Williams Martini R …Scuderia Toro RossoHaas F1 TeamRenault Sport F1 T …Sauber F1 TeamMcLaren HondaSelect name to toggle individual visibility or toggle all

Fastest laps

Australian Grand PrixKimi Räikkönen1:26.538
Chinese Grand PrixLewis Hamilton1:35.378
Bahrain Grand PrixLewis Hamilton1:32.798
Russian Grand PrixKimi Räikkönen1:36.844
Spanish Grand PrixLewis Hamilton1:23.593
Monaco Grand PrixSergio Pérez1:14.820
Canadian Grand PrixLewis Hamilton1:14.551
Azerbaijan Grand PrixSebastian Vettel1:43.441

F1 test schedule

Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain27 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain28 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain01 Mar
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain02 Mar
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain07 Mar
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain08 Mar
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain09 Mar
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain10 Mar

F1 team launches

Sauber F1 TeamOnline20 Feb
Renault Sport F1 TeamTBC21 Feb
Sahara Force India F1 TeamSilverstone, England22 Feb
Mercedes AMG Petronas MotorsportSilverstone, England23 Feb
McLaren HondaTBC24 Feb
Scuderia FerrariFiorano, Italy24 Feb
Williams Martini RacingTBC25 Feb
Haas F1 TeamTBC26 Feb
Red Bull RacingOnline26 Feb
Scuderia Toro RossoBarcelona, Spain26 Feb