Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

F1 encyclopedia

Race results - British Grand Prix 2016 - Hamilton wins but Rosberg penalised for radio traffic

Hamilton wins but Rosberg penalised for radio traffic
Credit: Mercedes-Benz Grand Prix Ltd

When the race finally got underway (six laps behind the safety car is no one’s cup of tea, really), the action really kicked off. Pit stops happened almost instantly, and a virtual safety car was called moments later when Pascal Wehrlein spun off into the gravel. Opting to stay out of the pit lane worked in favour of both the Mercedes drivers and Max Verstappen, who all ended up on the podium, Lewis taking the victory.

Verstappen hoped to scoop second after Rosberg developed gearbox problems but the Mercedes crew talked the German through his issues, which later raised the ire of the stewards who investigated him and found him guilty of infringing the new restrictions. He was demoted to third giving Verstappen the coveted second place. Meanwhile, both Renaults struggled with gearbox problems, both Manor cars spun out of the race, and Romain Grosjean and Marcus Ericsson suffered mechanical retirements.

BestNico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team1:35.548Lap 44
1Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team1:34:55.8312
2Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing+8.2502
3Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team+16.9112
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing+26.2112
5Kimi RäikkönenScuderia Ferrari+69.7432
6Sergio PérezSahara Force India F1 Team+76.9412
7Nico HülkenbergSahara Force India F1 Team+77.7122
8Carlos Sainz JrScuderia Toro Rosso+85.8582
9Sebastian VettelScuderia Ferrari+91.6542
10Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso+92.6002
11Felipe MassaWilliams Martini Racing+1 lap3
12Jenson ButtonMcLaren Honda+1 lap2
13Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda+1 lap3
14Valtteri BottasWilliams Martini Racing+1 lap2
15Felipe NasrSauber F1 Team+1 lap2
16Esteban GutiérrezHaas F1 Team+1 lap2
17Kevin MagnussenRenault Sport F1 TeamLap 493
DNFJolyon PalmerRenault Sport F1 TeamLap 373
DNFRio HaryantoManor Racing MRTLap 242
DNFRomain GrosjeanHaas F1 TeamLap 172
DNFMarcus EricssonSauber F1 TeamLap 112
DNFPascal WehrleinManor Racing MRTLap 61