Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

F1 encyclopedia

Driver standings - Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2016 - Rosberg secures first title in Yas Marina showdown

Rosberg secures first title in Yas Marina showdown
Credit: Daimler AG

It came down to the final few laps with Lewis Hamilton doing his best to force the race to turn on its head, but Nico Rosberg held on to second place to secure his maiden championship, wrapping up the 2016 season in style. Hamilton took the win but it was all about Nico as the Mercedes driver joined the list of German world champions.

In the end there were only five points in it, and both the Mercedes drivers were leaps and bounds above the rest of the field. Daniel Ricciardo finished a very lonely third, with Sebastian Vettel and Max Verstappen duelling for a distant fourth and fifth place.

10Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team385
20Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team380
30Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing256
40Sebastian VettelScuderia Ferrari212
50Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing204
60Kimi RäikkönenScuderia Ferrari186
70Sergio PérezSahara Force India F1 Team101
80Valtteri BottasWilliams Martini Racing85
90Nico HülkenbergSahara Force India F1 Team72
100Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda54
110Felipe MassaWilliams Martini Racing53
120Carlos Sainz JrScuderia Toro Rosso46
130Romain GrosjeanHaas F1 Team29
140Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso25
150Jenson ButtonMcLaren Honda21
160Kevin MagnussenRenault Sport F1 Team7
170Felipe NasrSauber F1 Team2
180Jolyon PalmerRenault Sport F1 Team1
190Pascal WehrleinManor Racing MRT1
200Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1
210Esteban GutiérrezHaas F1 Team0
220Marcus EricssonSauber F1 Team0
230Esteban OconManor Racing MRT0
240Rio HaryantoManor Racing MRT0
F1 driver championship3850AUSBHRCHNRUSESPMONCANEURAUTGBRHUNGERBELITASINMALJPNUSAMEXBRAABUNico RosbergLewis HamiltonDaniel RicciardoSebastian VettelMax VerstappenKimi RäikkönenSergio PérezValtteri BottasNico HülkenbergFernando AlonsoFelipe MassaCarlos Sainz JrRomain GrosjeanDaniil KvyatJenson ButtonKevin MagnussenFelipe NasrJolyon PalmerPascal WehrleinStoffel VandoorneSelect name to toggle individual visibility or toggle all