Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

F1 encyclopedia

Race results - Australian Grand Prix 2015 - Sebastian Vettel joins Mercedes duo on Melbourne podium

Perfect weekend for Hamilton
Credit: Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton converted his pole position to victory at Albert Park, with a full minute and a half over teammate Nico Rosberg. Sebastian Vettel finished third to take to the podium alongside the Mercedes duo, although he was a full thirty seconds down the road. Felipe Massa ended up fourth, Williams’ sole representative in the race. Bottas was unable to start due to a back injury.

Neither Manor car was able to take to the grid, whilst both Kevin Magnussen and Daniil Kvyat failed to complete their installation laps and were unable to start the race. On the first lap, Sainz and Räikkönen nudged each other, which in turn caused Nasr to collide with Maldonado. The Lotus spun out, bringing out the safety car, and Grosjean retired that lap to compound the team’s problems.

A mediocre race followed, with Räikkönen retiring due to a pit stop error leaving him with one wheel not attached properly, and Max Verstappen bringing his first race to an early conclusion after a power unit failure. Jenson Button finished McLaren’s first full race distance in the new car, but was 11th and last.

BestLewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team1:30.945Lap 50
1Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team1:31:54.0671
2Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team+1.3601
3Sebastian VettelScuderia Ferrari+34.5231
4Felipe MassaWilliams Martini Racing+38.1961
5Felipe NasrSauber F1 Team+95.1491
6Daniel RicciardoInfiniti Red Bull Racing+1 lap1
7Nico HülkenbergSahara Force India F1 Team+1 lap2
8Marcus EricssonSauber F1 Team+1 lap3
9Carlos Sainz JrScuderia Toro Rosso+1 lap1
10Sergio PérezSahara Force India F1 Team+1 lap1
11Jenson ButtonMcLaren Honda+2 laps1
DNFKimi RäikkönenScuderia FerrariLap 402
DNFMax VerstappenScuderia Toro RossoLap 321
DNFRomain GrosjeanLotus F1 TeamLap 10
DNFPastor MaldonadoLotus F1 TeamLap 10
DNSDaniil KvyatInfiniti Red Bull Racing0
DNSKevin MagnussenMcLaren Honda0