Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

F1 encyclopedia

Formula 1 season 2015

Formula 1 season guide

Formula 1 season 2015
Credit: McLaren
Points allocation

The 2015 season saw an element of stability after the regulation overhaul of the previous year. Several teams retained their driver lineups but there was a big move for Fernando Alonso to McLaren, and Sebastian Vettel to Ferrari, so plenty of attention was on how their years would pan out. A bumper 21-race calendar saw the return of Korea and Mexico, whilst Abu Dhabi was all set to play host to a season finale with double points – until that idea was scrapped.

Season overview

Whilst all eyes were on the new team pairings at McLaren and Ferrari, the focus could never be far from Mercedes. The team entered a second season of domination, with Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton vying for wins and taking podium places wherever possible – in fact, Mercedes secured 16 victories during the year. Lewis Hamilton managed to secure the championship with Nico Rosberg swarming to a successful three-race hat trick of wins at the end of the year.

Williams were hoping to keep up their strong performance from 2014 but it was not to be, as the team struggled for performance and only shone on the odd occasion during their journey to third place in the standings. Ferrari were a solid second, playing best-of-the-rest to Mercedes, having the benefit of Vettel on board. Red Bull, though, were struggling with a tempestuous relationship with their engine supplier, and a new driver line-up.

Also, we waved goodbye to Caterham at the end of 2014, but Manor had a last minute reprieve and were able to participate in the full season. They were unable to pick up any points and ended up tenth in the championship standings, but did secure two twelfth place finishes as a highlight.

F1 returned with some style to Mexico, with a successful return for the race. The prospect of double points at the final race of the year was met with mixed reviews almost immediately it was mentioned, but the FIA saw fit to dispense with the idea before it came to pass. It was an unnecessary move, either way, as the championship had been sewn up long before the Abu Dhabi race rolled around.

Season calendar

Australian Grand PrixAustralia15 Mar
Malaysian Grand PrixMalaysia29 Mar
Chinese Grand PrixChina12 Apr
Bahrain Grand PrixBahrain19 Apr
Spanish Grand PrixSpain10 May
Monaco Grand PrixMonaco24 May
Canadian Grand PrixCanada07 Jun
Austrian Grand PrixAustria21 Jun
British Grand PrixUnited Kingdom05 Jul
Hungarian Grand PrixHungary26 Jul
Belgian Grand PrixBelgium23 Aug
Italian Grand PrixItaly06 Sep
Singapore Grand PrixSingapore20 Sep
Japanese Grand PrixJapan27 Sep
Russian Grand PrixRussia11 Oct
United States Grand PrixUnited States25 Oct
Mexican Grand PrixMexico01 Nov
Brazilian Grand PrixBrazil15 Nov
Abu Dhabi Grand PrixAbu Dhabi29 Nov

Driver standings

10Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team381
20Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team322
30Sebastian VettelScuderia Ferrari278
41Kimi RäikkönenScuderia Ferrari150
5-1Valtteri BottasWilliams Martini Racing136
60Felipe MassaWilliams Martini Racing121
70Daniil KvyatInfiniti Red Bull Racing95
80Daniel RicciardoInfiniti Red Bull Racing92
90Sergio PérezSahara Force India F1 Team78
100Nico HülkenbergSahara Force India F1 Team58
110Romain GrosjeanLotus F1 Team51
120Max VerstappenScuderia Toro Rosso49
130Felipe NasrSauber F1 Team27
140Pastor MaldonadoLotus F1 Team27
150Carlos Sainz JrScuderia Toro Rosso18
160Jenson ButtonMcLaren Honda16
170Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda11
180Marcus EricssonSauber F1 Team9
190Roberto MerhiManor Marussia F1 Team0
200Alexander RossiManor Marussia F1 Team0
210Will StevensManor Marussia F1 Team0
220Kevin MagnussenMcLaren Honda0
F1 driver championship3810AUSMALCHNBHRESPMONCANAUTGBRHUNBELITASINJPNRUSUSAMEXBRAABULewis HamiltonNico RosbergSebastian VettelKimi RäikkönenValtteri BottasFelipe MassaDaniil KvyatDaniel RicciardoSergio PérezNico HülkenbergRomain GrosjeanMax VerstappenFelipe NasrPastor MaldonadoCarlos Sainz JrJenson ButtonFernando AlonsoMarcus EricssonSelect name to toggle individual visibility or toggle all

Constructor standings

10Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team703
20Scuderia Ferrari428
30Williams Martini Racing257
40Infiniti Red Bull Racing187
50Sahara Force India F1 Team136
60Lotus F1 Team78
70Scuderia Toro Rosso67
80Sauber F1 Team36
90McLaren Honda27
100Manor Marussia F1 Team0
F1 constructor championship7030AUSMALCHNBHRESPMONCANAUTGBRHUNBELITASINJPNRUSUSAMEXBRAABUMercedes AMG Petro …Scuderia FerrariWilliams Martini R …Infiniti Red Bull …Sahara Force India …Lotus F1 TeamScuderia Toro RossoSauber F1 TeamMcLaren HondaSelect name to toggle individual visibility or toggle all

Fastest laps

Australian Grand PrixLewis Hamilton1:30.945
Malaysian Grand PrixNico Rosberg1:42.062
Chinese Grand PrixLewis Hamilton1:42.208
Bahrain Grand PrixKimi Räikkönen1:36.311
Spanish Grand PrixLewis Hamilton1:28.270
Monaco Grand PrixDaniel Ricciardo1:18.063
Canadian Grand PrixKimi Räikkönen1:16.987
Austrian Grand PrixNico Rosberg1:11.235
British Grand PrixLewis Hamilton1:37.093
Hungarian Grand PrixDaniel Ricciardo1:24.821
Belgian Grand PrixNico Rosberg1:52.416
Italian Grand PrixLewis Hamilton1:26.672
Singapore Grand PrixDaniel Ricciardo1:50.041
Japanese Grand PrixLewis Hamilton1:36.145
Russian Grand PrixSebastian Vettel1:40.071
United States Grand PrixNico Rosberg1:40.666
Mexican Grand PrixNico Rosberg1:20.521
Brazilian Grand PrixLewis Hamilton1:14.832
Abu Dhabi Grand PrixLewis Hamilton1:44.517

F1 test schedule

Circuito de JerezSpain01 Feb
Circuito de JerezSpain02 Feb
Circuito de JerezSpain03 Feb
Circuito de JerezSpain04 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain19 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain20 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain21 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain22 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain26 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain27 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain28 Feb
Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpain01 Mar

F1 team launches

McLaren HondaOnline29 Jan
Sauber F1 TeamOnline30 Jan
Scuderia FerrariOnline30 Jan
Scuderia Toro RossoJerez, Spain31 Jan
Infiniti Red Bull RacingJerez, Spain01 Feb
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 TeamJerez, Spain01 Feb
Williams Martini RacingJerez, Spain01 Feb
Lotus F1 TeamJerez, Spain02 Feb
Sahara Force India F1 TeamOnline25 Feb