Sidepodcast // All for F1 and F1 for all

F1 encyclopedia

Indian Grand Prix

Formula 1 season 2013

Circuit information
CircuitBuddh International Circuit
LocationGreater Noida
CountryIndia
TimezoneGMT +05:30
Race debut2011
Laps60
Length5.125 km
Distance307.249 km
Line offset0.251 km

Event overview

The Indian Grand Prix scraped onto the 2011 calendar, finishing up just in time to provide a reasonable debut for the country’s first F1 race. It had been in development, through talks and building the circuit itself, for several years, but the reception to the first Indian Grand Prix was muted.

The first sector of the Buddh circuit sees the home straight lead into a very tight and slow first corner, through several more turns, before heading onto a huge, long straight that leads to turn 4. After another straight, the corners become more frequent, with the sweeping right hander of turns 10 and 11 providing a real challenge. That area is also surrounded by grandstands, providing an excellent opportunity for fans to get some excellent views as the race unfolds.

The track remained on the F1 calendar for three years, but was dropped after disputes with regards to funding arrangements. The circuit continues to host motorcycle racing, however.

Learn more about Buddh International Circuit with the Pocket F1 Handbook.

Session timetable
DateDaySessionTimeLocal time
25 OctFridayFree Practice 105:30
GMT +01:00
10:00
GMT +05:30
Free Practice 209:30
GMT +01:00
14:00
GMT +05:30
26 OctSaturdayFree Practice 306:30
GMT +01:00
11:00
GMT +05:30
Qualifying09:30
GMT +01:00
14:00
GMT +05:30
27 OctSundayGrand Prix09:30
GMT +00:00
15:00
GMT +05:30

All content in the series India 2013