Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

Join the club - Ex-F1 drivers line up as hopefuls for new Formula E series

Published by Christine

Ex-F1 drivers line up as hopefuls for new Formula E series
Samo Vidic/Red Bull

The introduction of a new racing series allows for a host of new seats to open up, and Formula E has confirmed a collection of former F1 racers who are keen to get back behind the wheel. Although no one is signed to a specific team just yet, organisers of the Formula E series have put forward five names who are up for taking part in the inaugural year, if any of the entrants should wish to select them.

Sébastien Buemi, Lucas di Grassi, Tonio Liuzzi, Takuma Sato and Karun Chandhok have all put their names into the hat to create a pool of F1-calibre talent for the Formula E teams to choose from. Also interested are Adrien Tambay and Ma Qing Hua, plus IndyCar star Marco Andretti. Boss of the Formula E series, Alejandro Agag, has explained why the names have been announced so early.

"We cannot confirm any drivers just yet as it will be down to the individual teams to select who fills their seats. However, we hope by offering them a pool of top international drivers to choose from - all of whom support the new series - we can deliver on this promise of providing close, entertaining racing in city centres around the world."

Lucas di Grassi has already been involved developing the Formula E car, but steps down from the role in the hopes of a full time race drive. The 2014/15 season of FE gets underway in Beijing in September.