Sidepodcast - All for F1 and F1 for all

Live Event Coverage

2011 Indianapolis 500 qualifying - Setting up the grid for the pinnacle of the IndyCar series

Published by Leigh O'Gorman

Today and tomorrow sees the qualifying sessions for the 100th anniversary of the Indianapolis 500.

Today sees the first 24 positions confirmed, with the final 9 places being solidified tomorrow - to give you an idea of the drama, 41 drivers are going for 33 spots... Qualifying position is judged on the average speed over four laps.

Pole Day results

Qualifying results
1Alex TaglianiSam Schmidt227.472mph
2Scott DixonGanassi227.340mph
3Oriol ServiaNewman/Haas227.168mph
4Townsend BellSam Schmidt226.887mph
5Will PowerPenske226.773mph
6Dan WheldonHerta226.490mph
7Buddy RicePanther225.786mph
8Ed CarpenterSarah Fisher225.121mph
9Dario FranchittiGanassi
10Takuma SatoKV225.736mph
11Vitor MeiraFoyt225.590mph
12JR HildebrandPanther225.579mph
13James HinchcliffeNewman/Haas225.572mph
14Bertrand BaguetteRahal Letterman Lanigan225.285mph
15Davey HamiltonDreyer & Reinbold225.250mph
16Helio CastronevesPenske225.216mph
17John AndrettiPetty/Andretti224.981mph
18EJ VisoKV224.732mph
19Bruno JunqueiraFoyt224.691mph
20Justin WilsonDreyer & Reinbold224.511mph
21Jay HowardRahal/Schmidt224.483mph
22Tomas ScheckterKV/SH224.433mph
23Tony KanaanKV224.417mph
24Simona de SilvestroHVM224.392mph
Yet to qualify
Paul TracyDreyer & Reinbold224.353mph
Charlie KimballGanassi224.262mph
Ana BeatrizDreyer & Reinbold224.258mph
Ryan BriscoePenske224.134mph
Marco AndrettiAndretti224.074mph
Danica PatrickAndretti223.831mph
Graham RahalGanassi223.822mph
Alex LloydDale Coyne223.564mph
Pippa MannConquest223.070mph
Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti222.951mph
Raphael MatosAFS222.786mph
Mike ConwayAndretti222.247mph
James JakesDale Coyne221.846mph
Sebastian SaavedraConquest221.526mph
Ho-Pin TungSchmidt/Dragon(no speed)

Ho-Pin Tung crashed heavily on the final lap of his first run, leaving with him a concussion. He cannot now run for Bump Day.

Timing and Scoring and IMS radio commentary can be found at

Today and tomorrow sees the qualifying sessions for the 100th anniversary of the Indianapolis 500

Event start

17:10GMT +01:00

21 May 2011