Sidepodcast // All for F1 and F1 for all

Next race: Spanish Grand Prix, Barcelona
F1 encyclopedia

Scuderia Ferrari

Formula 1 team

Scuderia Ferrari
Credit: Ercole Colombo
Team information
F1 debutMonaco Grand Prix, 1950
Season line-up
Race driverFernando Alonso
Race driverKimi Räikkönen
Key members of staff
Chassis technical directorJames Allison
Director of engineeringPat Fry
Head of trackside engineeringLuigi Fraboni

Ferrari have been part of Formula One since its very beginning, the only team to have raced in every single F1 season since 1950. They have seen periods of supreme success, tempered with seasons of lacklustre racing. Recent results would put them back near the top, but a return to the top of the championship standings eludes them. The partnership of Kimi Räikkönen and Fernando Alonso for 2014 makes them one of the favourites going into the season, if they can control those two polar opposite per

F1 history

Scuderia Ferrari was founded by Enzo Ferrari in the late 1920s, originally as an Alfa Romeo works team in the early days of motorsport. After a disagreement with the car manufacturer, and following the interruption of a World War, Ferrari created the Scuderia running under his own name and began to race.

When the Formula One World Championship began in the 1950s, Ferrari were present. They missed the first race, but arrived in time for the Monaco Grand Prix that year. They have become the only team to participate in every single F1 season to date. Ferrari won their first race at Silverstone in 1951, and took the Constructor’s Championship in 1961, just four years after its inception. Since then, they have seen varying degrees of success but have ultimately become the face of Formula One.

Many famous names have been associated with the Scuderia, and many see the Italian team as the pinnacle of the sport – the team to aim for. They have won 16 Constructor’s Championships altogether, and 15 driver titles, with over 200 victories. The most memorable period for Ferrari came with the combination of boss Jean Todt, strategist Ross Brawn, and driver Michael Schumacher. The unprecedented success of the trio secured Ferrari six constructor titles in a row, and in 2004, Schumacher won 12 of the first 13 races, with 13 victories overall.

The success wasn’t always well received, and Schumacher remains one of the most controversial drivers in the sport. Claims of favouritism by the governing body towards the Scuderia didn’t help when a championship was on the line. Equally, the team themselves used team orders to their own detriment and gained a reputation for being ruthless in the pursuit of victory.

The dominance was broken in 2005, and since then Ferrari have struggled to regain their full form. Another championship was waiting for them with Kimi Räikkönen in 2007, and they secured the constructor’s championship the following season as well. With the strong partnership of Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa, the team started to see good results but have yet to repeat their championship wins. For 2014, Räikkönen returns to race alongside Alonso, making one of the strongest, but most intriguing, line-ups on the grid.

Learn more about Ferrari with the Pocket F1 Handbook.